Showing posts with label edward s. hewitt. Show all posts
Showing posts with label edward s. hewitt. Show all posts

Saturday, July 5, 2025

The Dr. John E. and Katherine MacKenty House - 111 East 61st Street

 


Adolphus Smedberg and his wife, the former Mary Ludlow Morton, were both born in 1835.  They had a son, Harry Ashton, and were living in the newly built, brownstone-fronted house at 111 East 61st Street in 1872 when their second son, Adolphus, Jr., was born.  Apparently sharing the residence with the Smedbergs were Adolphus's sister and her husband.  William Adams, Smedberg's brother-in-law, died here on January 21, 1876 at the age of 61.

The Smedbergs appear to have moved in 1878, when Harry was attending Columbia.  The following year, the Ellison family occupied the house, and by the mid-1880s, it was home to the Wattles family.  On December 23, 1886, the New-York Tribune announced, "Mrs. Wattles held a large reception and tea yesterday from 4 until 6 o'clock, at No. 111 East Sixty-first-st., to introduce her daughter, Miss Wattles.  Over two hundred guests called."

Harris D. and Elizabeth B. Colt, real estate operators, purchased the "four-story stone front dwelling," as reported by the Real Estate Record & Guide, in 1901.  They leased it to a succession of well-to-do families.

In an article titled "Some Recent Flittings" on November 11, 1906, for instance, The New York Times noted, "Mr. and Mrs. John Wesley Peale [moved] to their new house, 111 East Sixty-first Street."  

Following the Peales here were Charles A. Shearson, his wife, the former Jessie McCullough, and their adopted son, Charles, Jr.  Born in Galt, Ontario, Canada in 1856, Shearson came to New York in 1903.  He was a member of the New York Cotton Exchange and a partner in the cotton brokerage firm of Shearson, Hammill & Co.  His brother, Edward, also lived in the East 61st Street house.

In the early 20th century, births, deaths, and minor operations took place within the homes of the affluent.  On the evening of January 22, 1910, the 54-year-old Edward A. Shearson, Sr. underwent an appendicitis operation in his bedroom.  He did not survive.

In August the following year, Arthur A. Fowler and his wife, the former Elizabeth Bonright, signed a lease.  They appear to have remained here until May 29, 1919, when the house was sold to Dr. Alfred Wild Gardener and his wife, Mary E., for $60,000 (about $1 million in 2025 terms).

Shortly after Mary's death in February 1923, Dr. Wild sold 111 East 61st Street to Dr. John Edmund MacKenty and his wife, the former Katherine Gilman.  Before moving in, they hired architect Edward S. Hewitt to drastically remodel the outdated brownstone.

Hewitt stripped off the facade, removed the stoop, and pulled the front forward to the property line.  The new projected portion rose four stories.  The fifth floor sat back to provide a screened sleeping porch.  Hewitt's spartan neo-Georgian design included a handsome marble entrance with engaged columns and an elegant swan's neck pediment and urn.  The Flemish bond brick of the upper floors were trimmed with marble sills and reeded lintels, their ends decorated with carved rosettes.

image via the NYC Dept of Records & Information Services.

Born in 1869, MacKenty married Katherine in 1898 in Washington D.C.  She was the daughter of Colonel Jeremiah H. Gilman and Katharine Rogers.  The couple had two children, John Gilman, and Katharine (known familiarly as Kit).  Kit was married to Reverend Wilhelminus B. Bryan, Jr. and lived in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Dr. John Edmund MacKenty had joined the medical faculty of McGill University in 1892.  He was now the senior surgeon at the Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital.  His medical office on the ground floor was part of the renovations to 111 East 61st Street.  In 1925, the year they moved in, he invented a device that enabled "a person whose larynx had been removed to speak," as described by the New York Evening Post.  

It may have been Katherine's growing up in a military family that prompted her interest in the Army Relief Society.  In 1925, she was elected assistant treasurer of the organization.  She was also highly involved in the Women's City Club.  That same year, she was elected its director.

John Gilman MacKenty had graduated from the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale University in 1923.  When the family moved into 111 East 61st Street, he was working with the Radio Corporation of America (later RCA).  On February 27, 1926, his engagement to Katharine Walker was announced.  His marriage would not only add another Katharine to the family, but another connection to the military.  Katharine's grandfather was Colonel Aldace F. Walker.

Dr. MacKenty routinely submitted technical articles to medical journals, and in 1927 published two books, Cancer of the Larynx and Nursing in Diseases of the Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat.

On the night of December 11, 1931, MacKenty died in the East 61st Street house.  He was 62 years old.

Katherine leased the ground floor office to Dr. Otto V. M. Schmidt.  She remained here until suffering a fatal heart attack on November 29, 1938 at the age of 62.  Her funeral was held in the house on December 1.

On April 27, 1939, The New York Sun reported that Katherine MacKenty's estate had sold 111 East 61st Street to Regency Hall, Inc.  The article described the residence as "containing fifteen rooms and four baths," adding, "The house will be used for combination residence and doctor's office."

The office was used by several physicians.  Dr. William Lawrence Gatewood was here in 1946, and Drs. George A. Friedman and Nathan Millman were listed here in 1948 and 1949 respectively.

The end of the upper floors as a single-family home came in 1953 when they were converted to apartments.  Doctors in the ground floor office came and went throughout the subsequent years, perhaps the longest to remain being Dr. Percy Ryberg, here in the 1960s and '70s.

There are still apartments above the doctor's office today.  Although callous replacement windows disfigure Hewitt's neo-Georgian design, the house otherwise looks much as it did when the MacKentys remodeled the vintage 1870s rowhouse.

photograph by the author

Saturday, April 14, 2012

The 1931 Charles C. Auchincloss House -- No. 120 East 70th Street

photo Sothebyhomes.com
At the turn of the last century things were changing on East 70th Street block between Park and Lexington Avenues.   The noisy, dirty trains that ran down the middle of Park Avenue were being moved underground and covered by park-like boulevards.  Many of the merchant-class brownstones of a generation earlier were being replaced by more fashionable homes as the neighborhood became more acceptable.

On May 6, 1902 the three-story brownstone house at No. 120 East 70th Street was sold and in December plans were filed by architect W. S. Post for a new five-story “brick dwelling” with a projected cost of $30,000.  Before construction of the house was completed in 1903 it had been sold to Clinton H. Crane.

Crane was a well-respected yacht designer and broker, a partner in the firm Tams, Lemoine & Crane.   The company designed and built some of the best-known yachts of the time, including large ocean-worthy steam yachts.  Crane’s specialty was the “race-about class” of boats, designed for speed in regattas and cup races.  When the America’s Cup was lost in 1912, Forest and Stream magazine complained “Had Crane been given an order for a cup defender, it is pretty certain we still would have had the trophy in this country.”

Crane and his wife lived in No. 120 until 1911 when it was sold to Edgar Stirling Auchincloss.  At the time of the sale The New York Times remarked “The house contains an electric elevator, and was carefully built throughout, being one of the handsomest dwellings in the residential streets between Park and Lexington Avenue.”

Auchincloss, who had married Catherine Sanford Agnew in 1903, was a broker with the firm of C. E. Welles & Company that had succeeded Welles, Auchincloss & West.  The wealthy family spent their winters on East 70th Street while idling the summers away in Rye, New York; Kennebunkport, Maine; or Darien, Connecticut.

A year after the family moved in Edgar's brother, Gordon, married Janet House.  The newlyweds made their home in the East 70th Street resident.   Apparently such an arrangement was expected within the family because their brother Samuel Sloan Auchincloss, who had married Mrs. Emma Guidet Duryee in 1910, was living here with his wife as well.

In 1930 the Auchincloss family moved on and Edgar's third brother, Charles Crooke Auchincloss took over the property.  Charles and his wife, the former Rosamond Saltonstall of Boston, had been fixture in New York society since their marriage in 1906.   For about a decade they had been living in a mansion at 12 East 71st Street, just off Fifth Avenue.

Carved Adams-style woodwork adorned the stairhall -- photo sothebyhomes.com
An attorney and stockbroker, Charles was also an ardent collector of rare books.   On October 19, 1930 The Times announced his plans to replace the 70th Street house with “a five-story, brick, marble and granite trim resident…from plans by Edward S. Hewitt.”   Completed a year later, the new house was a prim, stylized neo-Georgian design in keeping with the upscale homes on what Fortune Magazine would nine-years later dub “the most beautiful residential block” in the city.  The elegant interiors were decorated with period antique furnishings, tapestries, oriental rugs and imported antique mantles.  Mrs. Auchincloss poured tea in a Louis V drawing room and to house Charles’s extensive book collection there was a wood-paneled Georgian library.

Gas lamps glow on either side of the marble entrance steps shortly after the house was completed -- photo Library of Congress
Apparently impressed, four years later Dr. John Erdmann hired Hewitt to create a new, near matching façade for his house next door at No. 122.

The Auchinclosses owned a summer estate in Roslyn, Long Island and, aside from their charity interests, were active members of the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the New York Zoological Society.  They stayed on in the house until Charles’s death on May 14, 1961.

In 2012 the 16-room Auchincloss mansion was put on the market for $32 million.   It has been lovingly preserved;an important link in the chain of impressive homes that make up this block.