Showing posts with label adamesque architecture. Show all posts
Showing posts with label adamesque architecture. Show all posts

Saturday, March 20, 2021

The Charles G. Cornell, Jr. House - 24 East 64th Street

 


Real estate developer Theodore Weston acted as his own architect when he erected four Queen Anne style homes on the south side of East 64th Street, just west of Madison Avenue, in 1881.  Four stories tall above high English basements, they were completed the following year.

Weston sold the western-most of the row, No. 24, to William Cullen Brewster.  Born on July 29, 1831, he was married to the former Georgiana Williams in 1857.  The couple had a two daughters, Annie Seabury and Mary Roget (who went by her middle name) Brewster.

The family had a sterling American pedigree.  Brewster was directly descended from Elder Brewster and John Alden.  Georgiana's ancestors included Roger Williams.

William was a founder of the Plaza Bank and its first president.  He was also president of the Fifth Avenue Safe Deposit Company and a director in the Second National Bank and other financial institutions.

Mary was the first to marry.  Her wedding to Navy Lieutenant Lazarus L. Reamey took place on November 10, 1886 in the Church of the Holy Spirit.  The Argus mentioned, "his bride has very sensibly persuaded him to transpose his two Christian names, and on the wedding invitations he stands as Lieutenant Lowry L. Reamey."  

The writer had visited the Brewsters' home previous to the ceremony and wrote, "I saw, confidentially, a guest chamber crowded with sumptuous bridal gifts, many of them from Tiffany's."  A reception was held in the house following the wedding.

Mary's parents had been uneasy at the both the pace of the couple's romance (they had known each other just ten days before Reamey proposed) and what The Argus called "the genteel poverty of our naval service."  But William Brewster found the suitor his other daughter eight years later even more troubling.

The problem was that the Brewster family was Episcopalian and Count Henri de Frankenstein was Roman Catholic.  The Polish count traveled from Rome to New York in January 1894 and waited nervously for two months as William and Georgiana talked it out.  (One imagines that Georgiana may have pressed for the match, which would result in her daughter's becoming a countess.)

Finally, on March 13, according to the Indianapolis News, "Mr. Brewster looked relieved this morning.  'I have given my consent to his marrying my daughter,' he said.  'They are engaged.  The wedding will take place, I presume, on March 28.'"  The article noted that the prospective groom's family "are closely allied to the family of the Pope" and "Miss Brewster may be obliged to renounce Protestantism and become a Roman Catholic."

On March 28 The Evening World reported "The marriage of County Henri de Frankenstein to Miss Annie Seabury Brewster...who is worth $1,00,000 in her own right, took place at 11:30 o'clock this morning in St. Patrick's Cathedral."  A wedding breakfast was held in the East 64th Street house, the guest list of which groaned with high-level society names like Rockefeller, Mills, Post, Thebaud and Gibson.  

Annie Brewster on her wedding day.  The Evening World, March 28, 1894 (copyright expired)

Brewster, however, seemed not quite reconciled.  At the breakfast, according to The Evening World, "He went from one room to another with his hands in his trousers' pockets, his head bent, his nerves unstrung, and a cigar in his mouth, puffing smoke into the rose and lily scented atmosphere."

William Cullen Brewster suffered a fatal heart attack in the house on May 30, 1900.  His estate sold No. 24 East 64th Street the following February to Judge H. W. Bookstaver for $70,000--about $2.2 million in today's dollars.

The house saw a turnover in owners over the next two decades.  Major change came in 1919 when it was purchased by Charles G. Cornell, Jr.  (Interestingly, he paid $70,000 for the property, exactly the price paid almost two decades earlier.)  He hired society architect Mott B. Schmidt to remodel the outdated Victorian into a modern, American basement residence.

Schmidt removed the stoop and pulled the front forward to the property line.  He replaced the brownstone facade with white stone.  What had been an eccentric Queen Anne house now wore a prim Adamesque facade

The original appearance of the house is suggested by the No. 26 partially seen to the left.  photo by Wurts Bros. from the collection of the Museum of the City of New York.

Sculptress Consuelo Vanderbilt was the daughter of Virginia Fair and William Kissam Vanderbilt, Jr.  She was named after her aunt (the daughter of William K. Vanderbilt, Sr. and his wife Alva), who had become the Duchess of Marlborough.  On January 26, 1926 she married stock broker Earl E. T. Smith in her father's mansion at No. 666 Fifth Avenue.  

The newlyweds would make No. 24 East 64th Street their home.   The New York Sun remarked, "The house, completely furnished, was a wedding gift from her father, William K. Vanderbilt."  Although Mott Schmidt's interiors were only five years old, Consuelo hired John Russell Pope to make alterations before the newlyweds moved in.

Daily News, March 9, 1927

On March 9, 1927 the Daily News reported that the couple had welcomed their first child, Iris.  "Two of three middle names will be given the seven-and-one-half pound morsel of aristocracy now lying under silk coverlets in the Smith home at 24 East 64th st.," said the article.

The couple's second daughter arrived three years later.  On May 20, 1930 the Daily News reported "Another heir to the vast fortunes of the clan Vanderbilt was born on Sunday...The child...is a great granddaughter of Mrs. Oliver H. P. Belmont and the late William K. Vanderbilt on the maternal side and the late Edward N. Tailer, social lion of the mauve decade, on her father's side."  The baby was named Virginia.

But the end of domestic bliss was on the horizon.  In 1934 the Smiths separated.  The New York Times said, "Relatives and close friends, it is learned, have been endeavoring to effect a reconciliation.  Few, however, knew of the marital difficulties."  On January 9, 1935 the newspaper reported that Consuelo had arrived in Reno to institute divorce proceedings.

The eight-minute private trial was held on February 21.  The New York Times reported, "Mrs. Smith, who is reported to have a personal income of $1,000,000 a year, went directly to District Judge Thomas F. Moran's court room.  A moment later the doors were locked behind her and the trial began."  Consuelo's claims of "extreme cruelty" were supported by the testimony of a servant, Mrs. A. A. Blackmer.

Consuelo sold No. 24 East 64th Street to Colonel Grayson M. P. Murphy, and in turn bought his former house at No. 11 East 70th Street.  Grayson was a senior vice president of the Guaranty Trust Company and founder and principal in the brokerage firm of G. M. P. Murphy & Co.  During World War I he had served as the first European Commissioner of the American Red Cross, and more recently was implicated in the failed 1933 conspiracy, known as the Business Plot, to overthrow President Franklin Roosevelt in a military coup.

Grayson would not enjoy the house for long.  He died in October 1937, about a year after moving in.  The residence was sold by his estate in December.

Owner William H. Hawkins hired architect Morris Whinston to alter the house to accommodate the Lawrence O'Toole Gallery at sidewalk level and apartments on the upper floors.  On December 21, 1940 The New York Sun deemed James St. L. O'Toole's new galleries "exceedingly agreeable and lend themselves well to the furtherance of exhibitions."

The Lawrence O'Toole Art Gallery remained in the space until 1958 when the ground floor was converted to one apartment and a retail space.  Another renovation completed in 1976 resulted in offices throughout the building.


The ground floor space became home to Bradley Mischka's first Manhattan boutique in 2013.  Despite the interior alterations in the second half of the 20th century, the sophisticated mansion retains much of its 1920 appearance.

photographs by the author

Friday, January 8, 2021

The Adolph and Lillian Pavenstadt House - 10 East 64th Street


An idea of the original appearance of No. 10 can be gotten from the glimpse of No. 12, to the left.

In 1878 the architectural firm of D. & J. Jardine designed a row of four high-stooped houses on East 64th Street, just east of Central Park, for Edward Kilpatrick.   The neo-Grec design of the 20-foot wide homes was the latest in domestic fashion.

No. 10 was purchased by Isaac Meinhard and his wife, the former Amelia Rosenheim.  Meinhard was born in Burghashlach, Germany in 1836 and immigrated to Savannah, Georgia with his family in 1860.  He and his brother Henry opened a wholesale dry goods firm, Meinhard Brothers & Co., there.  Following the end of the Civil War he brought his family to New York.

Isaac and Amelia had four children: Henry, Alice, Minnie and Leo.  The family's name only occasionally appeared in society columns, mostly in reference to their trips abroad.  Significant exceptions were the marriages of their daughters, Alice in 1886 and Minnie in 1894.  Both were married in upscale ceremonies at Delmonico's.  As had been the case with her sister's wedding, following Minnie's "a reception dinner and ball followed," as reported by the New-York Daily Tribune.

In June 1898 Meinhard sold the house to William P. and Adelaide C. Hardenbergh.  The Sun reported the price paid was "about $40,000," or just over $1.25 million today.

Hardenbergh was a vice-president of the New Jersey Zinc Company.  He and Adelaide had two children, William, Jr., and Sara.  Their country home was in Bernardsville, New Jersey.

It was there, in St. Bernard's Church, that Sara was married to Hugh J. Chishold, Jr. on June 25, 1910.  The Sun romantically reported, "It was at a country wedding that Mr. and Mrs. Hugh J. Chisholm Jr. were married."  The reception was held in the Hardenbergh house.  The Sun noted that William "has just bought the Marion Story place at Westchester," as well.

Adelaide appeared in society pages as she hosted receptions and other entertainments.  An example was on December 8, 1920, when, as reported by The New York Times, she "entertained with a dinner and dancing at her residence."

By the time of that event the brownstone house was more than three decades old and decidedly out of architectural fashion.  But that would change when the Hardenberghs sold it to newlyweds Adolph and Lillian M. Pavenstadt in July 1922.  The following month the Real Estate Record & Builders' Guide reported that the Pavenstadts had hired architect Donn Barber to make $35,000 worth of alterations to the residence.  (The cost would translate to about $534,000 today.)

While renovations got underway the Pavenstadts went to Europe.  On November 5 the New York Herald reported "on their return [they] will occupy their new home at 10 East Sixty-fourth street."  

The house to which the couple returned looked nothing like the one they had purchased.  Barber had stripped off the brownstone front and stoop, pulled the façade to the property line, and produced a limestone-faced Adamesque style mansion unlike anything in the district.  A broad, grilled entrance sat within the rusticated base.  The two-story midsection was dominated by double-height, free-standing columns.  The grouped openings of the fourth floor sat below a triangular pediment which fronted the slate mansard level.



The Pavenstadts had been married in 1921, just months before buying No. 10.  The Washington D.C. newspaper The Evening Star noted, "Mrs. Pavenstedt is remembered in Washington as the Baroness von Sternberg, wife of the late former ambassador of Germany."  Her former husband, Baron Hermann Speck von Sternburg, died in 1908.  Born in America as Lillian Langham, Adolph was now her second German-born husband.  

An expatriate banker, Pevenstadt had been an advisor to Count Johann von Bernstorff during World War I.  Both drew governmental suspicion when Pavenstadt negotiated a deal between von Bernstorff and an infamous spy, Bolo Pacha.  $1,700,000 was passed to Pacha who was to use it bribe the French press to start a propaganda campaign.  Although Pavenstadt swore he did not know the intended use of the money, in January 1918 he was detained on Ellis Island for the duration of the war.  

The couple now immersed themselves in Manhattan society.  On February 21, 1927 The New York Sun reported, for instance, "Mr. and Mrs. Adolf J. Pavenstedt will give a dinner this evening at their home, 10 East Sixty-fourth street, and take their guests to the opera." 

Lillian's sister, Ivy, had married Count de Faramond de Lafajole of France in 1904.  The two couples traveled back and forth across the Atlantic for extended visits.  On November 23, 1934, for instance, The New York Sun, reported "The Countess de Faramond de Lafojole, from Paris, has joined Mrs. Adolph J. Pavenstedt at 10 East Sixty-fourth street."  And on October 17, 1936 the newspaper reported that the Pavenstedts had returned from Europe, adding that "Count and Countess de Framond de Lafajole and their youngest son, Vicomte Jack de Faramond de Lafajole, are due from France soon to join Mr. and Mrs. Pavenstedt."

Receptions and dinners slowed at No. 10 East 64th Street by the early 1940's.  A somewhat catty article in the Albany Times-Union on February 21, 1941 began, "Mrs. Henry S. Redmond and Mrs. Adolf Pavenstedt are two formerly prominent hostesses of whom one hears little these days."  The writer noted that "Both ladies still possess sizeable fortunes and dwell in the grand manner," but continued "Mrs. Pavenstedt has followed in Mrs. Redmond's footsteps--I suspect both ladies with years creeping upon them, have wearied of the very thing that once was the Alpha and Omega of their existence."

By 1947 the mansion was home to Arthur T. and Alice M. Ford.  It received a high-profile owner in 1992 when it was purchased by Ivana Trump, former wife of Donald Trump, for $2.5 million.  

She raised the ire of her neighbors in 1994 by installing gilded lamps on either side of the entrance and erecting a "large burgundy canopy," as described by The New York Times on March 27.  The commercial-looking canopy did not escape the notice of the Landmarks Preservation Commission, either, which slapped her with violations.

Art dealer and neighbor Pat Kery told Times reporter Marvine Howe, "what strikes me more than the canopy is all that gold glitter and red flocked wallpaper in the lobby, which really lights up the block."

Ivanna Trump's canopy and façade-mounted lighting fixtures quickly came down.  photograph by William E. Sauro/The New York Times.

The house was the venue of Ivana Trump's launch of her "Ivana Living Legend Wine Collection" on October 18, 2011.

Ivana Trump and her daughter, Ivanka, at the launch of the wine collection within the house.  Black Tie Magazine, October 22, 2011

As it did in 1922, Donn Barber's striking remake of the 1879 brownstone stands out along the upscale block, unlike anything in the neighborhood.



photographs by the author

Friday, December 21, 2018

The William M. Benjamin House - 127 East 69th Street



Among the most prolific of the developers who transformed the Upper East Side from open land to residential neighborhoods in the years following the Civil War was Christopher Keyes.  In 1872 he hired architect John Sexton to design a row of eleven 20-foot wide brownstone houses on the northern side of East 69th Street, stretching to the corner of Lexington Avenue.

Completed in 1873, No. 127 like its neighbors was four stories tall above a high English basement.  It became home to the family of Max Abenheim, principal of Max Abenheim & Co., "grain and provisions" firm at Nos. 2 and 4 Stone Street.

It appears that Abenheim had slightly altered his surname when he first arrived in New York.  In 1877 he took out a $20,000 mortgage on the house with Abenheimer Bros, of Baden, German.  The amount of the mortgage, equal to about $485,000 today, hints at the original purchase price. 

Among the Abenheim children was Sidney, whose teen-age hobby was coin collecting.  He placed an advertisement in Harper's Young People on November 2, 1880 that read "I would like to exchange rare stamps for foreign or United States coins with any readers of YOUNG PEOPLE."   He would not be the only occupant of No. 127 over the years to have a serious interest in coins.

Three years later Sidney enrolled in Columbia College and joined his father's business.  The ambitious young man would hold directorships in mining and railroad companies and even invented a shoe polishing machine in 1892.

By then Max Abenheim & Co. had branched out into tobacco exporting.  And following Abenheim's death Sidney and his brother, Max, Jr., who ran the firm as co-partners, focused only on tobacco.

In July 1894 Abenheim's heirs sold No. 127 to real estate operator Julia Friend, who leased it until 1903 when she sold the house to William Hartman Woodin, head of the American Car and Foundry Company.  A bizarre accident earlier in the year nearly prevented the transaction.

The Woodin country home was upstate.  On January 8, 1903 a local newspaper reported "William H. Woodin, a prominent resident of Oneonta, was struck by a train this noon on the Delaware and Hudson Railroad at Cooperstown Junction.  He is still alive and may recover."

Woodin, of course, did recover and moved his family into the 69th Street house.  He and his wife, the former Annie Jessup, had two daughters, Mary Louise and Anne Jessup.  Like Sidney Abenheim, Woodin was interested in rare coins--but his fortune took the hobby to a nearly unparalleled level.

In 1909 Woodin's purchase of two coins drew international attention.  On June 6 The Sun reported "Two unique United States gold coins of the denomination of $50, each of different design, which have long been regarded as the rarest coins in the world by American coin collectors, were purchased a few days ago by William H. Woodin of this city at a figure for each which by far exceeds all record high premiums paid for any coin ever sold."

Each of the coins was one-of-a-kind; the only examples struck.  The Sun explained "They never emerged from the experimental stage."  Minted in 1877, they were put away at the United States mint and had never been brought out since.  Although the exact price for each coin was not disclosed, it was announced that it exceeded the previous record of $6,200, making the lowest possible price for both in the neighborhood of $345,000 today.

Excitement was aroused within the numismatic community when Woodin decided to sell part of his collection in 1911 at an auction at the Collectors' Club.  On March 5 The New York Times remarked "The Woodin collection of three-dollar gold pieces is said to be the finest and the only complete one of this denomination ever offered at public sale."  The collection brought $16,862 (nearly $450,000 today).

Woodin's recognized expertise in coins and coin design came into play in 1914 when a movement to improve silver coinage took hold.  Proponents pointed out that the current designs were easily worn down with use.  When the Federal Government was urged to form a special committee to address the issue in December 1914, The New York Times reported "It is probable that William H. Woodin...an authority on United States pattern coins, will be the Chairman of this committee."

(Woodin, incidentally, would be appointed Secretary of the Treasury by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1933.)

William H. Woodin - from the collection of the Library of Congress
While her husband focused on building railroad cars and coin collecting, Annie Woodin had been busy grooming two future socialites.  In November 1911 she gave a tea to introduce Mary Louise to society.  The New York Times noted "The tea will be followed by a dinner and theatre party."

Anne's turn came in November 1914, the year that her sister graduated from Bryn Mawr College.  Anne's coming out began with an evening reception in the house on November 24, followed by "a dinner and informal dancing."

The Woodins began construction on a new summer home in Easthampton, Long Island in the spring of 1916.  The residence, designed by society architect Grosvenor Atterbury, cost the equivalent of $925,000 today.

The United States involvement in World War I and the prospect of deployment sparked a sense of urgency in many romances.  On April 14, 1918 The Sun reported that "News was received here last week of the marriage on April 6 of Miss Mary L. Woodin, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William H. Woodin of 127 East Sixty-ninth street, to Lieut. Charles Miner, 109th Field Artillery, U.S.A."  The couple had been married near Camp Hancock, Georgia where the groom was stationed.  "Miss Woodin's engagement was not announced until a short time before the wedding," said the article.

The following year, in December, Anne would be married to Colonel Olin F. Harvey.  Nine months earlier her parents had sold No. 127 and moved to No. 752 Park Avenue.

The transaction was both convoluted and a bit sneaky.  In March 1919 the house was sold to Foot & Martin, Inc., which almost immediately resold it to "a client of Ruland, Whiting & Benjamin," one of the leading real estate firms in the city.  That client was the Etagloe Holding Company, of which William Massena Benjamin, was president (he was, as well, president of Ruland, Whiting & Benjamin).

Benjamin, using the name of Etagloe Holding Company, hired architect S. Edson Gage to completely remodel the outdated Victorian into a modern residence.  Gage removed the stoop and moved the facade forward to the property line.

The remodeled house was highly unusual among Manhattan rowhouses.  Gage produced a 20th century take on 18th century Adam style architecture  The variegated Flemish bond brick was trimmed in stone.  The design was dominated by the over-sized arch that rose from the elegant entrance.  The slightly-recessed double-doored entrance was fronted by classical columns and pilasters that upheld an entablature decorated with Adamesque swags and garlands.



Delightful Juliette balconies clung to the third floor openings.  The paneled lintels of the fourth floor windows were carved with leaves and flowers.  Behind a stone balustrade the mansard level featured brick dormers with similar paneled lintels.

Benjamin and his wife, the former Charlotte Hoffman Prime, had six children: Sarah Morris, Charlotte Prime, Elizabeth Fish, Julia Kean, Samuel Nicoll, and William Hoffman Benjamin.  Two years after moving in another son, Hamilton Fish, would be born.

William Benjamin came from a distinguished New York family, and was related to the socially and politically eminent Fish family.  His grandfather was Hamilton Fish, Secretary of State in the Ulysses S. Grant administration.  The family's summer estate was at Garrison-on-Hudson. 

While he was a member of some of the most exclusive men's social clubs--among them the St. Nicholas Society, the Union Club, the Downtown, and the St. Anthony--he seems to have been more passionate about his membership in sporting clubs.  The New York Times later said he was "a keen sportsman, particularly fond of hunting and fishing"  He was president of the Triton Club of Canada and a member of the Boone and Crockett Club, founded by Theodore Roosevelt in 1887.

Perhaps to prevent any problems with the title of the house later in life, on May 1, 1922 the Etagloe Holding Company sold No. 127 to Charlotte.  It was a move that would prove wise before very long.

In the winter of 1928 William Benjamin became ill.  In hopes that a warmer climate would improve his health, he left New York for a cruise along with Charlotte and two of their daughters.   When his condition worsened, they disembarked in San Juan where Benjamin was hospitalized.  The 54-year-old died there on February 15.

Somewhat surprisingly, the engagement of Elizabeth to William Lawrence McLane was announced by her mother just two months later.   Nevertheless, no doubt because the family was in mourning, The New York Times noted that "No date has been set for the wedding."

Julia's engagement to Lieutenant Joseph Farrell Haskell of the U.S. Army was announced in December the following year; but it was soon broken "by mutual consent."  So when Charlotte announced the couple would be married in the 69th Street house in January 1932, The Times said "News of the approaching marriage will come as a surprise to members of society."

Charlotte's life was consumed with engagements and debutante entertainments as the years passed.  The year after Julia's home wedding, Emily was introduced to society with a dinner in the house on January 6, 1933.  Charlotte then hosted her guests at a performance of the play 20th Century at the Broadhurst Theatre.

Emily's engagement to Charles Arthur Richards, Jr. was announced in January 1934; but like Julia's first engagement, it did not last.  On October 4, 1935 Charlotte announced that it had been "terminated by mutual consent."  And, like her sister, the rift was repaired.  On April 11, 1936 the date for the couple's wedding, June 5, was announced.

Sarah was next to enter the spotlight.  Her debut came in the form of a dinner and dance in the Persian Room of the Plaza Hotel on December 10, 1937.  Her engagement to Alan Anderson was announced on February 2, 1939.  Following closely behind was Mary, whose engagement to Eric Sinclaire Purdon was announced by Charlotte in August 1940.

Charlotte's maternal responsibilities were not over.  The following year the engagement of Samuel, who was now a Lieutenant in the Air Corps, to Joan Oakey was announced.  His wedding took plate the following year in Montebello, California.  The Times noted "At the reception the bride cut the wedding cake with a saber awarded to the bridegroom at Gunter Field for outstanding military achievement."

Although Charlotte Benjamin lived on to the age of 88, dying in September 1969 at Garrison, she sold the 69th Street house to Dr. Emanuel Joseph in 1944.  The physician converted the house to ten apartments, one of which, on the first floor, he retained for his own home and office.  His unmarried nurse, Frances Ormsby, occupied the topmost floor.

On the afternoon of March 11, 1946 Frances rushed into the office saying that burglars were in her apartment.  The doctor picked up a heavy iron bar and headed upstairs.   Frances had been right.  Five teen-agers were in the act of looting her apartment.

As Joseph rushed up the stairs, he encountered the boys carrying the booty in a blanket.  The New York Times reported "He told police...that he knocked two of the youths unconscious and held a third at bay with the bar."  The other two escaped.  The oldest of the trio was 15 years old.  They were declared delinquents in Children's Court and remanded to the Youth House for sentencing.

Joseph was drawn into a case of intrigue and civic spying in 1949.  Two men appeared at the house and identified themselves as telephone workers who needed to check wiring.  They were, in fact, former Treasury Department agent Edward M. Jones and former detective Kenneth Ryan, who were now working for private investigator John G. Broady.  Broady was in turn hired by Clendenin J. Ryan, an opponent of Mayor William O'Dwyer.  They installed a wiretap intended to pick up the telephone conversations from the home of Manhattan Borough President and Tammany Hall leader Hugo Rogers.

Soon afterward Detective Joseph Popp discovered a wire tap device in the Rogers house.  That led to the uncovering "of the Sixty-ninth Street listening post."  Popp cautioned Dr. Joseph to be on the lookout for any fake telephone company employees.

Only a couple hours later Ryan and Jones returned for their routine "check-up."  Despite Popp's warnings, Joseph acted naively, telling them that he had been told to watch for bogus telephone men.  Joseph later testified "They went off in a great lather."  Despite a stake-out of No. 127, the police were unable to catch the suspects in the act due to Joseph's unthinking blabbering.

No. 127 was sold in July 1954.  The former doctor's office soon became home to the Burden Littell Bureau, an organization active in promoting benefits for organizations like the Turtle Bay Music School.  It would remain in the space at least through 1962.  In the 1970's it was home to the art gallery Carlton.



A subsequent renovation in 1988 resulted in medical offices in the basement and first floor, one apartment on the second, a duplex on the third and fourth, and one apartment in the mansard level.  The altered residence has since been home to recognized names like Leigh Keno, American antiques dealer whose face became familiar to viewers of Antiques Roadshow.

photographs by the author